Informacje o produkcie

Nigeria 70: The Definitive Story Of 1970's Funky Lagos (gatefold 180g)

Nigeria 70: The Definitive Story Of 1970's Funky Lagos (gatefold 180g)
Label: Strut
Nr kat.: STRUT044LP
Format: 3LP+3CD
Styl: African
Produkt niedostępny
Wysyłka w dni
Koszt od 15,99 zł
119.99 / 1szt.
Out Of Stock
  • 01 Orlando Julius & The Afro Sounders - Alo Mi Alo (part 1 & 2).mp3
  • 02 Segun Bucknor & His Revolution - La La La.mp3
  • 03 Lijadu Sisters - Orere Elejigbo.mp3
  • 04 Peter King - Shango.mp3
  • 05 Sahara All Stars Band Jos - Enjoy Yourself.mp3
  • 06 Fela Ransome Kuti & The Africa 70 - Jeun Ko Ku (Chop `n` Quench).mp3
  • 07 Tunji Oyelana & The Benders - Ifa.mp3
  • 08 Ofo The Black Company - Allah Wakbarr.mp3
  • 09 The Funkees - Dancing Time.mp3
  • 10 Monomono - Tire Loma Da Nigbehin.mp3
  • 11 Bala Miller & The Great Music Pirameeds Of Afrika - Ikon Allah.mp3
  • 12 Sir Victor Uwaifo & His Melody Maestroes - Akayan Ekassa.mp3
  • 13 Shina Williams & His African Percussionists - Aboju Logun.mp3
  • 14 Gasper Lawal - Kita Kita.mp3
  • 15 Sunny Ade & His African Beats - Ja Fun Mi (instrumental).mp3
  • 16 Blo - Chant To Mother Earth (CD).mp3
  • 17 Tony Allen & His African Messengers - No Discrimination (CD)
  • 18 William Onyeabor - Better Change Your Mind (CD).mp3
  • 19 Bongos Ikwue - Woman Made The Devil (CD).mp3
  • 20 Afro Cult Foundation - The Quest (CD).mp3
  • 21 Joni Haastrup - Greetings (CD).mp3
  • 22 Fela Anikulapo Kuti & The Africa 70 - Upside Down (with Sandra Akanke Isidore) (CD).mp3
  • 38 Track 38 (Nigeria 70 The Documentary) (CD).mp3
  • 39 Track 39 (CD).mp3
  • 40 Track 40 (CD).mp3
  • 41 Track 41 (CD).mp3
  • 42 Track 42 (CD).mp3
  • 43 Track 43 (CD).mp3


Limited new 15th anniversary repress of classic Afro-funk and afrobeat collection 500 copies only on a 3LP set including 2CD version and 1 CD audio documentary.

Strut repress one of the all-time classic compilations of Afro-funk and Afrobeat for 2016, the first volume of the mighty Nigeria 70 series. Originally released in 2001, the album followed the death of Fela Kuti and a renewed interest in original Afrobeat among younger club-goers. Put together over a three-week trip to Lagos, it documented for the first time the explosive era when domestic bands fused traditional highlife and juju with funk, soul, rock and disco.
Alongside two cuts by Fela Kuti, Nigeria 70 shone the spotlight on the incredible musicianship of artists like Segun Bucknor, Joni Haastrup and his Monomono band, Orlando Julius, saxophonist Peter King, “Guitar Boy” Victor Uwaifo, Lijadu Sisters and quirky keyboard wizard William Onyeabor among many others. Spread over 3LPs, the original edition also included a one-hour audio documentary featuring exclusive interviews with many original musicians and industry figures from the
‘70s scene, narrated by Wunmi.
As well as being a valuable document of an under-rated era, Nigeria 70 was one of the first crossover albums to dig deep into the African music archives and effectively market the music to a new online audience hungry for rare grooves and unique dancefloor sounds. Since Nigeria 70, this market has widened hugely with labels like Soundway, Analog Africa and Hot Casa all working tirelessly to document rare African beats. This new pressing of the Nigeria 70 3LP set is limited to 500 copies and features the full CD version and CD audio documentary as a bonus within the package. Full artwork is also featured including John Armstrong’s extensive sleeve note history alongside rare photos.

- Limited new 15th Anniversary repress of classic Afro-funk and Afrobeat collection, 500 copies only
- Definitive format: 3LP set including 2CD version and 1CD audio documentary as bonus
- one of the most influential of all recent African music collections which helped spawn a new market for African rare grooves
- album fully remastered for this reissue

Fela Kuti, Orlando Julius, King Sunny Ade, Ebenezer Obey, Afrobeat, highlife, James Brown, Segun Bucknor, Peter King, Monomono, Soundway, Analog
Africa, Ebo Taylor, Pat Thomas, Voodoofunk



Opinie użytkowników
Zapytaj o produkt:

Jeżeli powyższy opis jest dla Ciebie niewystarczający, prześlij nam swoje pytanie odnośnie tego produktu. Postaramy się odpowiedzieć tak szybko jak tylko będzie to możliwe.

To pole jest wymagane do złożenia zamówienia.
To pole jest wymagane do złożenia zamówienia.
pola oznaczone - To pole jest wymagane do złożenia zamówienia. - są wymagane